"New Drum Map" option seems to have vanished

Author
Alan in Cram
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 29
2014/01/14 13:44:05 (permalink)

"New Drum Map" option seems to have vanished

After 2 years of playing with Sonar X1 I am still a relative NewB . During these  years I have especially struggled with drum maps. Scott Garrigus and Trev Wilkins in their respective books “Sonar X1 Power” and “Cakewalk Sonar” give what appears to be simple instructions to assign a drum map to a MIDI track.  Finally on 17 December 2013 I cracked it and wrote a detailed account, with screen shots, so I would not forget how to do it.  These are the steps I took then:
  1. created a new midi project using TTS1.
  2. Opened up the piano roll view on the midi track and entered a few notes on C3 and D3. Then closed PRV.
  3. Clicked on the output control of the MIDI channel to be given the option of choosing  i) UA-4FX, ii) cakewalk TTS1 1 or iii) New Drum Map. I chose option iii).
  4. Opened PRV again and it appeared in Drum map format - magic! I added a few more notes for good measure.
  5. On the MIDI track I opened up the output and on the drop down menu chose Drum manager.
  6. The drum manager displayed a Map of the Kit and showed the outports as UA-4FX which I changed to TTS 1.
  7. Back to the track view and played the track. Success.
 Christmas and New Year was busy so I just got back onto Sonar in the second week of January.  I tried to repeat what I had done on the 17 December but it all went wrong. Each time I got to stage 3 of the above I was only given option i) and ii), the choice of New drum map was not available. I looked in Drum map manager but was unable to access any presets. I can’t locate the list of drum maps that were previously appearing when I was selecting a map on 17 December. Its driving me round the bend. 
I’ve searched the various forums but can’t find a solution.  Am I doing something that is obviously incorrect? Can anyone help me please?