New monitors and old ears

Author
Butch
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 175
2009/03/29 19:16:20 (permalink)

New monitors and old ears

Hello all,

I have been using a pair of Alesis M1 active monitors for the last seven years. I just bought a pair of Yamaha HS80M monitors, thinking I was moving up. When I first listened to them, I thought the high end was really harsh and there was not as much bottom as my M1s. A second listen confirmed my feelings the next day. I experimented with the switches on the back and made it a little better. I decided to send them back. I set the M1s back up and too my surprise, the bottom didn't sound any better. The high end now sounded worse than the Yamahas. The Yamahas sounded bigger and sharper and put the vocals front and center, focused. What's wrong with my ears? Why does my opinion change back and forth? Any known psycho-acoustic mess I'm dealing with?

Thanks for your help.

Butch
Let's make some art!

10 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    RE: New monitors and old ears 2009/03/29 21:48:27 (permalink)
    Asheville NC... what a beautiful town. I have a few customers there. I love the mts.... I'm from the flat lands...4 hrs east in Sims.... close to wilson...30 minutes east of raleigh..... anyway...about the monitors.

Reference monitors are NOT supposed to color the sound.... however,,,, to one degree or another, they do. Refernce monitors are supposed to be a true representation of what the music really sounds like. There are some "rules" about where to set them up and where not to set them up. I'm no expert on this but I understand they should not be on the floor or close to a wall. I can not set up by those rules due to space requirements....