New to audio recording

Author
neusch11
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10
2007/07/17 02:22:30 (permalink)

New to audio recording

Ok, I am a student at Iowa State and I am in a brand new band. We have a few songs but we want to record them and put out a few CD's to get the word out to the public... I have a new HP laptop and I was wondering what anyone thinks I should purchase for recording software. We have a limited budget but would like to get a deicent sound...doesnt have to be perfect just something other than recorded on a mic from windows. Please help!!

Thanks

18 Replies Related Threads

johneboy
    Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 120
    RE: New to audio recording 2007/07/17 03:14:35 (permalink)
    ive only gotten into recording on a pc in the last six months, and ive only been exposed to cakewalk home studio xl so ive nothing to compare it to. i can say that im very happy with my purchase (albiet a tad frustrated at times with the inital learning curve), and im making musical product that would cost tons more to create using a 'normal' studio set up. i wish that this technology was available when i was gigging and recording. the package comes with a great deal of bells and whistles (lots of soft-syths, effects, and plenty more very good ones out there for free with a little searching on google), and is upgradeable to higher end versions of cakewalk if you end up needing more power under the hood.