Newbie and sorry about the test needs help

Author
Kluson 2003
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 46
2008/03/24 14:27:34 (permalink)

Newbie and sorry about the test needs help

Hi Guys,
I am completely new to computer recording and have just got GT3 running on my PC under vista. But that really is about it. How do I get a drum pattern and where from? What are acid loops.
My sound card is a creative Xfi Fatality is that good enough for this job. I have a pod xt which I also plan to use.
Hope someone can throw some light on the best way to start with the package.
many thanks in advance

23 Replies Related Threads

SteveStrummerUK
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31112
    RE: Newbie and sorry about the test needs help 2008/03/24 15:42:40 (permalink)
    Hi again Kluson

First off, as GT3 isn’t supported in Vista, you may find it will run better in Compatibility mode and in Administrator mode. Right click on the program name and choose Properties then click on the Compatibility tab. Check the ‘Run this program in compatibility mode for:’ box and choose ‘Windows XP [Service Pack 2]’; at the bottom of the window in the Privilege Level, check the ‘Run this program as an administrator’ box.

Acid loops, or Groove Clips as they are often called in Cakewalk, are normally 1 measure [bar] of pre-recorded audio – what makes them so useful in GT3 is that these loops can be stretched to any project tempo, irrespective of what tempo they were recorded at. The important thing about acid loops is that they only stretch the tempo, the pitch of the drums remains the same, in other words, they don’t end up sounding like a tape being speeded up or slowed down.