No Midi Output Selected and I can't hear anything play??

Author
melodyuk2010
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2010/01/16 06:34:45 (permalink)

No Midi Output Selected and I can't hear anything play??

I am very new to all of this so sorry if this is a stupid question lol..

At the end of installtion it gives me the warning no midi output selected but all it shows in the output list is microsoft midi mapper but selecting that doesnt help it stll gives the warning...

I am intending to work with midi files aswell.. so hoping there is something I can do to fix this??

I am using Sonar LE 4.0.1 that came with the usb microphone CO1U, running Windows 7.

Thanks

7 Replies Related Threads

techead
    Max Output Level: -31.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4353
    Re:No Midi Output Selected and I can't hear anything play?? 2010/01/16 13:24:43 (permalink)
    Your microphone is not a MIDI interface device and you apparently don't have any MIDI devices.  MIDI can be clicked into place in SONAR using your mouse and rendered using softsynths, but it is much easier to generate MIDI by playing a keyboard or other MIDI controller and record that MIDI through a MIDI interface recognized by Windows and SONAR.

If you obtain a modern MIDI keyboard controller that has USB capability you can generally send/receive MIDI with the keyboard controller over USB.  You can also get dedicated MIDI devices.

Cakewalk has an inexpensive line of audio interfaces, MIDI interfaces, keyboard controllers, and combination units that would get you going.

The USB microphone is fine for audio but it won't get you anywhere with MIDI.

Vivienne
    • Total Posts : 1
    Re:No Midi Output Selected and I can't hear anything play?? 2010/01/17 22:48:57 (permalink)
    I have basically the same problem, even when I have my keyboard plugged into my laptop. Since I "don't have an output selected" it won't let me record or anything... exremely frustrating...