OT-Are forums a “waterhole” for a soon to be extinct species?

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
spacey
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 8769
2008/11/11 08:25:07 (permalink)

OT-Are forums a “waterhole” for a soon to be extinct species?

In my life I’ve seen the goal of being in a band replaced by home recording for most musicians.

When I started playing professionally in 1970 I knew bands that made a living playing “circuits”. I believe I saw the tail-end of the possibility of an average band being able to make a living with music.
Many things changed that contributed to eliminating the “average” band having a way to make a living. Disco clubs, drinking laws and the cost of hiring a band are some of the reasons.
Now musicians are seeing “tools” to use that really don’t need much more than someone to hit play.

I believe musicians are not needed for creating music anymore. A composer is all the electronic age needs and music generating software is quickly threatening the need of a human composer.

Now musicians with the desire for others to hear their music are posting on-line asking and hoping someone will listen. Mostly other musicians listening and they’re really not listening…they spend most of their time trying to get other musicians to listen to their music after all. Where did the audience of non-musicians go? What do they listen to? The latest .99 cent low-quality download from the new one hit wonder?

I guess if this sad notion be correct then the most ironic part of it is that the musicians are the ones paying for their own demise.

Usually when one is confronted with such an unacceptable outcome they will take action in hopes for a better result. I don’t think all musicians will stop buying the latest greatest thing that all the other musicians/composers want too. After all they need something to talk about at the “watering hole”. For longer than I think…I hope.