One wants to go electro

Author
pyker
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2009/06/04 05:51:08 (permalink)

One wants to go electro

Hi 2 @ll the Sonarists here!

I'm used to mixing and playing some real sounds like guitars, drums etc, but now I'd like to try some other genre.

To be more precise, something like this:

http://royksopp.com/

My problem is, I have no idea how to start with electro instruments, loops etc. in Sonar.

I don't even have any midi keyboard, so treat me as a total beginner.

I was happy to the limit if you could guide me how to start.

PS. When talking about drum track I prefer to have more freedom than just mixing ready-to-go loops in wav, so I suppose I should look for some VST drum instrument (for rock music I use EZ Drummer).

That's all for now - I count on your advice.

mike

14 Replies Related Threads

techead
    Max Output Level: -31.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4353
    RE: One wants to go electro 2009/06/04 07:12:27 (permalink)
    Which version of SONAR do you use?
    pyker
    RE: One wants to go electro 2009/06/04 07:42:45 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: techead

Which version of SONAR do you use?

My own 7 burned down during HDD failure, so now I have an opportunity to work on my friend's 7 PRO.

In about a month I'm going to buy 8 PRO and start from scratch anyway.

So think I use 7 PRO with 8 PRO on the horizon.
    Nick P
    Max Output Level: -44 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3112
    RE: One wants to go electro 2009/06/04 08:28:45 (permalink)
    Big subject. Really there's at least two categories of skills at issue: 1) Getting familiar with what it takes to produce dance music, which is independent of any particular equipment, and 2) Figuring out how to do it with Sonar.

1) There are some good books and tutorials available. Search Amazon for Dance Music Production, etc...