P5 total newbie question...

Author
AngelicLight
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 30
2007/11/25 21:54:02 (permalink)

P5 total newbie question...

Hi, there,

I feel TOTALLY stupid asking such basic a question, but all of my experience thus far has been with "traditional" hosts like Sonar, etc.

Recently, though, I am becoming more and more aware of the need to "see" my music laid out in a more visual manner, like the parts, patterns, etc. How well does P5 do this? I don't need to experiment much since most of my music is already done "in my head" and I don't really rely on loops and other material that I don't create. Is P5, therefore, something that I could still benefit from?

Sorry for the totally stupid questions. Keep in mind, though, that until recently I didn't even know why something like P5 was actually needed, meaning that I didn't understand what it could do that Sonar couldn't.

Stupid me, huh? (Or at least behind the times!) :)

9 Replies Related Threads

ecamburn
    Max Output Level: -60 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1510
    RE: P5 total newbie question... 2007/11/25 23:25:17 (permalink)
    Since you have experience with traditional hosts, you might find these threads that talk about the difference between p5 and sonar helpful.

http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=1209072
    http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=1208668
    http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=1119176
    http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=1175386

If you're used to working with midi clips in sonar, then, visually speaking, midi patterns in sonar might seem fairly similar. I personally find the visual feedback you get from P5 to be helpful. I find the arrange pane, in which you arrange midi and audio patterns, to be a very flexible and intuitive way to develop a composition. You might also find the groove matrix to be a useful way to visualize a composition. I'd really encourage you to give the project 5 demo a whirl.