PLS HELP: Driver issue?

Author
Helmet
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 64
2007/02/07 21:31:29 (permalink)

PLS HELP: Driver issue?

People:
I'm new to this and here's my story... I purchased an HP laptop, AMD dual core, 1 gig memory. After a week of using strictly for Sonar, the laptop crashed. I exchanged it for a new one at the store. For the past 2 months I have been learning the software and have been gradually getting the hang of it. But I began to find that I would have no sound when opening the program.

If I restarted the laptop, I would have sound again. But this happened with increasing frequency. Now, I can no longer hear my project at all. I also noticed that when I had no sound, there was no volume control available either on the desktop or in programs. The outputs were also blank in Sonar. I am set-up with MME-32 bit and using the conexant/microsoft wavetable included with the laptop.

I have intentionally held off on hooking up the interface (Line 6) because I am intent on learning Sonar 1st. I realize that the interface may solve the problem, but why did things deteriorate when they had been working fine? I have read all the previous posts relating to outputs and driver set-up. I have run the wave profiler, etc. I'm baffled. Someone had suggested using the Edirol instead as the driver, but I was unable to get this to show up in the outputs window in Sonar. I'm frustrated... Has anyone experienced this before? What can I do? Thanks in advance for your help. Aaahhh!!!

16 Replies Related Threads

daveny5
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 16934
    RE: PLS HELP: Driver issue? 2007/02/07 22:24:00 (permalink)
    Stop using the Conexant piece of crap and use the Line6 in ASIO mode.