Playing Music or Playing Studio

Author
space_cowboy
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9813
2009/02/15 00:16:57 (permalink)

Playing Music or Playing Studio

OK I admit it. It is fun to experiment with filters, compressors...

How much time do you just play with the studio?

Some people call me Maurice

SPLAT Pro lifetime, ADK 6 core 3.6Ghz with 32 GB RAM, SSD 1TB system drive, 3 3TB regular drives for samples, recordings and misc.  Behringer X Touch, UAD Apollo Quad.  2 UAD2 Quads PCI (i think - inside the box whatever that is), Console 1.  More guitars (40??) and synths (hard and soft) than talent.  Zendrum!!!

6 Replies Related Threads

Garry Stubbs
    Max Output Level: -49 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2619
    RE: Playing Music or Playing Studio 2009/02/15 04:46:12 (permalink)
    Spacey, You are right, as a relative newbie, I am writing and recording my first "home grown" album, but because I don't want to settle for anything less than what I hear in my head, I realize my original timescale of 1 year with no prior knowledge of digital recording technology was waaay too short. So, inevitably in the quest for perfection I test record, dabble, tweak etc etc etc. The irony is that I love it, but it gets me no nearer my finished opus. Am I frustrated? no, because any deadline I put on this project is arbitrary and has no outside pressures. The one adjustment I have made is, apart from my upcoming upgrade to an Intel quad core to drive the project, I have decided that I have enough technology, instruments and soft synths etc for now to learn properly and make the music I want. It make take another year but boy is it fun

Peace Love and Understanding

Garry Kiosk

https://soundcloud.com/garry-kiosk