Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
gdugan
Max Output Level: -68 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1118
2008/09/27 01:37:23 (permalink)

"Please God"

Hi all,

I'm hoping some of the experts on this forum can give me some advice on this song. I'm not an expert on the genre - Christian Country - and I'm having a "Devil" of a time deciding how to record and mix it.

What I have here is a working "sketch" of the song which is piano based, but really needs to be guitar based with piano fills. That much I get. Probably steel guitar would be a good addition. I'm hoping that any of you who know more about the genre (Country, not just Christian Country) can give me some advice (up to and including "scrap it" ).

It's a really simple song, one that my lyrics guy and I wrote almost 10 years ago as a gift to a friend, but never recorded. So I'm thinking "how hard can this be to just make reasonable demo?" but it's caused me no end of frustration. It seems like it's starting to gel, but isn't quite there yet.

Anyway, here's the link:

Please God

Thanks, folks!
post edited by gdugan - 2008/09/28 10:41:42

31 Replies Related Threads

kev11111111111111
    Max Output Level: -57.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1772
    RE: "Please God" - Need some production advice 2008/09/27 06:18:12 (permalink)
    I'm no expert in this genre,but it sounds good as it is ! My only suggestion,is that you could probably add a string section towards the end,to fill out the harmony ? Also you sing quite high in the last chorus (just one line I think)...it would of been nice to hear more in that register towards the end.
    Nice to hear a song,with some sort of progressive story going on in the lyrics ! Thanks for sharing
    Kev
    Jonbouy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 22562
    RE: "Please God" - Need some production advice 2008/09/27 07:40:32 (permalink)
    Gary