Pre fader monitoring and scenes

Author
southpaw3473
Max Output Level: -75 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 782
2008/05/21 22:03:43 (permalink)

Pre fader monitoring and scenes

Hey all,
I have a couple of newbie questions regarding Sonar. First, I can't find a way to monitor tracks pre fader. I know there must be a way and it's invaluable when mixing. I just can't find out how. Uggh!

The other question is about scenes. Can you take a picture (sometimes called scenes) of the entire project at a particular time?
I have been using a Yamaha AW2816 for several years and I can save a scene that has everything-fader positions, eq settings, channel on status, etc. I have wandered away from where I started a few times and had to reset everything individually. It is much easier to call up a scene with all the info in it. Now, does Sonar have a way to do this? Sorry, these are probably dumb questions but I'm still finding my way around the program. Thanks for the help.

We'll not risk another frontal assault-that rabbit's dynamite!!!

Tommy Byrnes
Sonar Platinum
Win 10 Pro x64 AMD FX 8350 Eight-Core 4.00GHz/ ASRock 970 Extreme4/ 16 gigs RAM
UA Apollo Firewire/UA 2 Quad Satellite/ Focusrite OctoPre/Makie Onyx1220i Mixer  
THANK YOU!!!

8 Replies Related Threads

mudgel
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 12010
    RE: Pre fader monitoring and scenes 2008/05/21 22:37:39 (permalink)
    If you check out the help file (PressF1) there's an audio path diagram that will show you what the audio path coming into SONAR is all about. I suspect that what you really need to do is monitor pre SONAR ie through your soundcard.

When you save a project its like taking a snapshot of all your settings.
    The problem comes with the Realtime aspect of audio manipulation that once you've performed a change time has moved on and so your settings change relative to that time. SONAR can be set to do infinte levels of undo and as all editing is not destructive you never lose anything anyway.