Helpful ReplyPre-processing before Amp sims

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Kamikaze
Max Output Level: -45 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3013
2017/04/09 06:16:12 (permalink)

Pre-processing before Amp sims

I'm pretty new to the world of Guitars and Amp, I've never played through a real amp, so just have TH2 (3 sort of) and MarkBass. These come with stomps of compressors. What would be the benefit of using these before and amp over those in the DAW; CA2A, PC76 and Boz+10 for example. I'm guessing having a modelled high end compressor over a modeled stomp box.

I've also been investigating pick ups and note comments like 'more attack, more sustain, deeper sound, more even dynamics, more presence etc. These all seem the subtle qualities you can achieve processing the sound pre Amp Sim, to mimic a better sounding an instrument. Of course a better sounding instrument would be better, but I've wondered about using transient designers, Channel eq's etc before the amp sim to achieve these qualities

mettelus
Max Output Level: -22 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5321
Re: Pre-processing before Amp sims 2017/04/09 06:29:08 (permalink)
Amp sims can house the entire chain which is a nice feature of their presets. The only thing I personally use prior to an amp sim is a limiter in my interface. That is just to prevent clipping inbound.

I would suggest not getting too heavy handed with compression or gain before an amp (sim). If you compress or gain signal you do not want, it is incredibly difficult to remove later.

ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC), i7-8700k, 16GB RAM, GTX-1070Ti, Win 10 Pro, Saffire PRO 24 DSP, A-300 PRO, plus numerous gadgets and gizmos that make or manipulate sound in some way.
Kamikaze
Re: Pre-processing before Amp sims 2017/04/09 06:37:43 (permalink)
Do you ever use the compressors stomp boxes that come with Amp sims?

Anything I'd try wouldn't be applied to the audio file, so it would easily be removed.

mettelus