Pro's of cakewalk?

Author
leora
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2011/03/03 22:32:48 (permalink)

Pro's of cakewalk?

I'm trying to decide if I should invest in a cakewalk program or not..
I need a program that I can learn to use without having to take any courses or a/thing.
im am not a pro. but im learning.
is cakewalk a good option?
and which version?
is the home studio 7 very dummed down?
is it better to get a more professional  one even tho im not a pro yet?

6 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re:Pro's of cakewalk? 2011/03/04 08:38:16 (permalink)
    OK.... well, Cakewalk has some nice stuff.

What are you wanting to accomplish with it? Are you a hobbyist, or do you want to compose symphonic movie trailers or something in between?

No matter what platform you buy, you will also need to but a nice sound interface to make it work correctly. the factory sound card doesn't cut it. So plan on that as well.

Here's what I did: I bought Music Creator 4 ( the current edition is MC5... buy the box version, not the download...you get more stuff) and a nice interface.

Music Creator is called a "beginners DAW" but it is actually quite sufficient to do most everything you will need to do. It handles MIDI and Audio. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles and extra stuff you will find in the bigger packages, but to me that is a good thing. It is a good basic DAW to start with, inexpensive at $40 and very usable. With a low initial software cost, you could afford a better interface.

If you want the Sonar DAW's by all means buy them for the features. You could also opt to start with MC5 and when you need the features in the bigger more expensive DAW's upgrade at that time.