Professional CDs are louder than mine - why?

Author
Daves Skunkworks
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 12
2006/04/11 23:07:50 (permalink)

Professional CDs are louder than mine - why?

I have been recording off and on for several years and figure out most of what I need to know through good ol' trial and error. However, I have never figured out why professional CDs are louder than mine. I amplify the final mix until it starts clipping and I can get clean, good sounding recordings, but when I compare it to a professional recording of a similar ensemble, mine is quieter. Can anyone enlighten me?
Thanks,
Dave

20 Replies Related Threads

kidsoncoffee
    Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 524
    RE: Professional CDs are louder than mine - why? 2006/04/11 23:22:15 (permalink)
    Mastering. Gain limit compresion.

I shouldent go into much more detail than that because Id be skating in the dark so to speak.

I do know this however. A song recorded and mixed well will always sound good.
    Take the same well recorded and mixed song. Squash the piss out of it and chances are you ruined it.

kfischer
    Max Output Level: -81 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 452
    RE: Professional CDs are louder than mine - why? 2006/04/12 00:01:27 (permalink)
    go to www.izotope.com and download the "mastering guide." It explains everything way better than I can.
    Jamz0r
    Max Output Level: -58 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1725
    RE: Professional CDs are louder than mine - why? 2006/04/12 01:06:01 (permalink)
    While you're at it, download the 10 day trial of Ozone 3...open your recording software, import one of your finished mixes...then run Ozone 3 as a plugin on the track.

Try some of the presets...I recommend one called "Ozone 3 - Room ambience heavy bass". It usually seems like a good place to start.
    You can tweak the presets once you find one that's close to what you want.