Project 5 vs Live

Author
Nathan Knight
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 146
2005/08/05 16:38:15 (permalink)

Project 5 vs Live

I'm new to Project 5 Version 2. I'm very interested in it but a studio owner friend of mine told me that Ableton Live is better...and that Project 5 is in essence a replica of Live. Since I'm at the very beginning stages of considering Project 5 (I've been a Cakewalk/Sonar user for 10 years)...and I don't have all that much time to learn new programs, I wanted to ask you all about the benefits of Project 5 (and maybe Live).

This studio friend of mine has recently switched to only using Live for all his recording (even ballads and band-style) productions. Do you guys use Project 5 that religiously? I'd be very happy to hear of how people use Project 5 alongside Sonar...or if P5 is sort of meant to be an all-in-one application?

Thanks in advance,
Nathan

19 Replies Related Threads

MurderDethKill
    Max Output Level: -56 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1904
    RE: Project 5 vs Live 2005/08/05 16:54:00 (permalink)
    Hi Nathan, and welcome to our little enclave,
    I use both P5 and Live, together (via rewire) and separately and find them both very useful.
    I think it would probably be a good idea if you download the demo's to both from here (P5 ver. 2) and here (Ableton Live Ver. 5).
    They are both fun to use, the operative word being Fun!!!
    Good Luck and HTH
    -MDK
    post edited by MurderDethKill - 2005/08/05 16:59:56

My site i guess;)
    Monstruousubergeekyhardcorefunkytrancepolkaoptimism Lives!!!
    ZuN
    Max Output Level: -78 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 622
    RE: Project 5 vs Live 2005/08/05 17:07:59 (permalink)