Question about thread loading :

Author
Rbh
Max Output Level: -52 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2349
  • Joined: 2007/09/05 22:33:44
  • Location: Indiana
  • Status: offline
2017/06/02 00:53:34 (permalink)

Question about thread loading :

Err... whatever it's called. First, I'd like to express my appreciation to the CakeWalk Forum archives for providing essential information for getting my newly purchased Sonar Pro working with a UAD Apollo 8 firewire. The magic formula seems to be reducing the MAXTHREADCOUNT in the Config file to be different than the default ( "0" - all cores ) setting. I ended up setting this to either 6 cores or 4 cores in order to rid constant studders and occasional audio engine drops. My processor is an I7 930 at standard clock. I can now run a modest but typically sized project with 64  and 32 buffers. Sweet- I'm happy, I like Sonar PRO quite a lot - I'm coming from a relatively ancient XP system and Sonar5.
 
So, how does this max thread count and reduced number of cores ( with the Appollo ) actually work in contrast with defaulting to using all cores available.How did my system start out so out of balance? DPC latency was steady under 300 micro secs. It was a finely tuned machine operating Samplitude, Reaper, Mixbuss  etc.
 
Wouldn't it be prudent to put a note somewhere in the troubleshooting or tweaks instructions to try this if X isn't working out for you. Found the answer back in a 2013 and 2014 post. Can't seem to relocate though, I am very grateful.

I7 930 2.8 Asus PDX58D
12 Gig
Appollo
CbB, Sonar Pro, Reaper, Samplitude, MixBuss
 Win7 Pro

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=902832
#1

2 Replies Related Threads

    Rob[at]Sound-Rehab
    Max Output Level: -47 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2819
    • Joined: 2011/02/03 04:31:35
    • Location: Sound-Rehab, Austria
    • Status: offline
    Re: Question about thread loading : 2017/06/02 10:56:28 (permalink)
    also interested in feedback from others ... there does not seem to be documentation on these thread count settings ...

    GOOD TUNES LAST FOREVER
      +++   Visit the Rehab   +++
     
    DAW: Platinum/X3e, win10 64 bit, i7-3930K (6x3.2GHz), Asus Sabertooth X79, 32 GB DDR3 1600MHz, ATI HD 5450, 120 GB SSD OCZ Agility3, 2x 1TB WD HDD SATA 600
    Audio-Interface: 2x MOTU 1248 AVB, Focusrite OctoPre, (Roland Octa-Capture)   Control-Surface: VS-700C 
    VSTi: WAVES, NI K10u, FabFilter, IK, ... (too many really) 
    #2
    AllanH
    Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 406
    • Joined: 2015/07/01 09:09:04
    • Location: Central Coast California, USA
    • Status: offline
    Re: Question about thread loading : 2017/06/05 12:26:12 (permalink)
    just one, possibly related, comment: Kontakt can interfere with Sonar's thread engine, unless you limit the number of Core Kontakt has access to. For me, giving Kontakt half of all cores works well.

    Sonar Platinum, EWHO/D, Spitfire, Miroslav, Pianoteq, ....,  Kurzweil.
    #3
    Jump to:
    © 2022 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.1