Questions about RAM and processor

Author
davdud101
Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1058
2017/02/02 21:58:05 (permalink)

Questions about RAM and processor

Hi, guys. Figured it'd be best to start a new thread to get some of these questions answered before I drop a load of cash on this stuff.

SO I'm curious- when it comes to RAM, would getting more be anymore helpful even if what I'm doing now is barely topping out at a little over half used?
In addition, how *big* of a performance difference would I get if my computer is running dual-channel mode on 2 pairs of 2gb sticks rather than 1 pair plus a 2gb and a 1gb stick? 
Finally, would it be of any bad consequence if I used, for example, a pair of 2gb sticks together with a pair of 4gb sticks? (4 slots, 12gb. Seems to be that people usually have 2, 4, 8, 16, 32 etc. , but never f.ex. 10, 12, 24, etc)

Also - any good tutorials on replacing a socket processor? This is my first time doing it and I want to do it right!
And where can I buy those static strips so that I don't destroy everything while working on it?

Thanks, guys. I thought I was somewhat tech-savvy, but really there's a LOOOT I don't know, especially when it comes to hardware.

Mics: MXL 990, MXL R80, 2 x MXL Tempo XLRs, Cobalt Co9, SM48, iSK Starlight
Cans: Hifiman HE4XX, AKG M220
Gear: Cakewalk BBL - PreSonus Firepod - Alesis Elevate 3 - Axiom 49
DAW: Win10, AMD FX-8300, 16GB DDR3

3 Replies Related Threads

slartabartfast
    Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5289
    Re: Questions about RAM and processor 2017/02/03 04:01:08 (permalink)