RME UFX+ vs FireFace 400

Author
Genghis
Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 827
2018/02/15 05:52:23 (permalink)

RME UFX+ vs FireFace 400

I've been using the RME FireFace 400 via Firewire for several years now and it's great.  Reliable, great drivers, low-latency. Everything I could ask for. Decent enough clean pres, but I also have a couple of more colorful preamps when I need something like that.  (Warm Audio Tone Beast and UAD LA-610 Mk II).

While what I have works great and is paid for, I'm considering going for the RME UFX+ and using it via USB3.  On paper it looks like a pretty nice unit and a big step up all around compared to what I have now.  More and better pres, better converters, USB3 for now, Thunderbolt for the next generation DAW I may move to in 2 or 3 years.  Lots of things tempting me. 

I'm looking for a bit of real-world experience here on how they compare though. Will the USB3 connection meet or exceed the latency I get with the FireFace 400? I comfortably run at 64 samples in Studio 1 on everything with the FF400, so I'd definitely need that or better, but the overall improvements across the board interests me.  Any other pros/cons I should consider, besides the outlay of cash for this unit?

They call 'em fingers, but I've never seen 'em fing. 
My Music is Here
Studio Cat DAW

15 Replies Related Threads

gswitz
    Max Output Level: -18.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5694
    Re: RME UFX+ vs FireFace 400 2018/02/17 02:12:58 (permalink)
    The biggest difference will be the on board fx. You get an eq and compressor on every input and output. You also get reverb and delay. Recording onto a USB stick. Control with a tethered iPad if you want it. Class compliance so it works with Linux Ubuntu studio.

Auto level for four tracks so you don't have to keep your eyes on gains.

StudioCat > I use Windows 10 and Sonar Platinum. I have a touch screen.