Random notes not sounding at all?

Author
TumbleweedBob
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2015/12/28 18:18:20 (permalink)

Random notes not sounding at all?

Hi folks,

I am new to Music Creator 5 and recently installed it to use with my M-Audio Axiom 25 USB MIDI controller.
I've installed it on a Dell Inspiron 6400 which worked fine with a trial version of Ableton Live, so I figured should work with this, however, I'm having this issue.

I create a project and then add a track (Instrument track then Cakewalk sound centre).
Then I choose say piano and record a melody, but when I play it back some of the notes aren't sounding out, even though the exact note played on say the bar before.

I tried a new project and this time recorded some chords and then played that back, same problem, the first 3 were fine but chords 4 and 5 failed to sound at all but 6, 7 and 8 were fine.

Any idea what is going wrong please?

Very frustrating and was really excited to start crating music again after a 15 year break.

Thanks in advance
Rob

8 Replies Related Threads

Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re: Random notes not sounding at all? 2015/12/29 06:46:19 (permalink)
    Welcome to the forum!
    This is usually due to too small MIDI buffers.
    Double the buffer size at "MIDI buffers - Prepare using xxx ms buffers".

SONAR PE 8.5.3, Asus P5B, 2,4 Ghz Dual Core, 4 Gb RAM, GF 7300, EMU 1820, Bluetube Pre  -  Kontakt4, Ozone, Addictive Drums, PSP Mixpack2, Melda Creative Pack, Melodyne Plugin etc.
    The benefit of being a middle aged amateur is the low number of years of frustration ahead of you.
    TumbleweedBob
    Re: Random notes not sounding at all? 2015/12/29 08:03:48 (permalink)
    Thanks a lot Kalle, k
    TumbleweedBob
    Re: Random notes not sounding at all? 2015/12/29 08:04:58 (permalink)
    Kind of you to post so quickly and sorry I am using an iPhone and it submitted before I had finished typing :-)