Realtek AC'97 VS. Realtek High Definition Audio

Author
PheonixVaj
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2013/08/14 20:01:43 (permalink)

Realtek AC'97 VS. Realtek High Definition Audio

Sorry, 

Newbie here, hope i got the correct forum.

I got sonar x2 on two separate laptops running on Xp & Vista.

Im having a problem with the recorded audio quality on my laptop which runs on Vista that I recorded from the microphone in Sonar X2 and using the Realtek High Definition Audio. Its worse than than the one running on my xp laptop with Realtek AC'97.
The quality is poor and seems like it has some source of reverb too.
Yes, I turn off all the Enchancetments on my laptop sound options.

As for the Realtek AC'97 running on my Xp, its great. No problem here.

Isn't the Realtek High Defintion Audio suppose to be Better since its called HIGH Defintion ?

How do I go about getting better quality of audio recording in Sonar x2  in my laptop that runs on Vista ?

20 Replies Related Threads

fireberd
    Max Output Level: -38 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3704
    Re: Realtek AC'97 VS. Realtek High Definition Audio 2013/08/15 06:33:02 (permalink)
    I can't hear any difference, everything is marketed as "HD" nowadays.  There is a difference in the control interface.  e.g. on desktops, if you have the HD Audio interface connection you have jack sensing.  With the older AC97 the jack sensing is not there.  Depending on your PC, that is probably the case with the Laptop too. 

PC audio systems are traditionally poor for high quality recordings.  They also tend to have high latency.  Your best bet option is to get a separate USB connected recording interface unit.

"GCSG Productions"
    Franklin D-10 Pedal Steel Guitar (primary instrument). Nashville Telecaster, Bass, etc. 
    ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero M/B, i7 6700K CPU, 16GB Ram, SSD and conventional hard drives, Win 10 Pro and Win 10 Pro Insider Pre-Release