Recording Newbie Questions =D

Author
michellecatssss
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2007/04/22 11:49:45 (permalink)

Recording Newbie Questions =D

hello everyone! i am new to computer recording so forgive my ignorance

i have cakewalk home studio 2002 as well as fl-studio on my pc. i went to guitar
center last night and purchased a usb midi controller so i wouldn't have to always
use the computer keyboard to enter beats, bass lines, etc.

well, when i hit a note on the controller there seems to be a bit of lag which makes
it almost impossible to record anything (unless i quantize it).

i guess the lag comes from all the other "crap" i have running on my pc (not to mention
how slow windows xp is).

so this brings me to my question... i have been looking online and i have noticed those
audio interface boxes (like the digidesign mbox 2). is that what these boxes are made
for? to help with the lag?

if this is indeed what i need to buy, can you recommend something that is relatively
inexpensive (let's say under $500).

more generally, what do i need to buy to start recording on my home pc?

thanks!!

michelle
post edited by michellecatssss - 2007/04/22 12:00:40

4 Replies Related Threads

DW_Mike
    Max Output Level: -6 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 6907
    RE: Recording Newbie Questions =D 2007/04/22 14:40:44 (permalink)
    Yes an audio/Midi interface would be a really good idea. The sound cards that come pre installed with a PC are not the best to record with. As far as what you need all depends on what your wanting to record. If you want to use audio and MIDI make sure the interface can do both. Also decide how many inputs you want. FireWire connections are better then USB. I have a MOTU, but alot of people like RME, Presonus, Digidesign, Echo, M-audio (dont know about M-audio and vista drivers). but any of these would be fine.

Welcome to the forums, good luck, and have fun

Mike

Sonar X3 ~ Scarlett 18i6 ~ Home Build DAW  
    GA-Z77X-UD5H