Refunds From Cakewalk

Author
tom3160
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 38
2008/09/12 20:58:40 (permalink)

Refunds From Cakewalk

I realize that I am new to this product and new to this forum but I'm not new to software, PC's and a lot of other technology. That said I want to know if anybody has ever asked for a refund from Cakewalk. The claims that this product is easy to use is totally unjustified. I am 9 or 10 hours into this product and still cannot figure out how to open a midi file with say 5 tracks in it, play it back while recording my guitar over it in audio. Mix the midi and the audio down to audio and export to an MP3.

I've been through tutorials on softsynth TTS stuff and the like and at every pass there's something else. Sometimes I don't see my audio card in the list of drivers, sometimes when I start the program MC 4 profiles my hardware and shows the audio card and my PreSonus box. Sometime it only shows the PreSonus box, sometimes just the audio card. Sometimes you get audio out the PC speakers, sometimes you don't. This amazes me. Small things like you cannot use ALT-TAB to go from the help file to the MC 4 GUI you have to explicitly minimize the help window. People, there's money to be made here its called make a DAW that you can do 80% of what it is you want to do in 20 minutes after you install it. Oh and by the way Steinberg's no easier that's why I bought MC 4 I was hoping.

Sorry for the rant but I get so little free time I'd rather be struggling with playing well over my song rather than getting this to work. Oh isn't that the claim by the way.

28 Replies Related Threads

57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14404
    RE: Refunds From Cakewalk 2008/09/12 21:53:52 (permalink)