Helpful ReplyRemoving a section of a song

Author
karma1959
Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 515
2017/01/31 20:39:40 (permalink)

Removing a section of a song

Hi all,
What's the easiest way to remove a section of a song?  I've struggled with this historically: manually splitting clips, deleting the section in each track, then moving the tracks to the left individually.  Crazy, right?  But when trying to drag all tracks are once or
when using a cut / paste special approach - I'm never successful. 

I understand the new update may have 'delete hole' fixed, although I've never used this option before.   Hopefully ripple editing will make this easier down the road, but I need to delete a section (or two!) of a song now and with 50 tracks of audio / MIDI, I'm seriously looking for an easier way.

Thanks in advance.
Russ

Sonar Platinum x64 on Win10 64, Dell T7400 w/ 8 Xeon cores, 8 Gbyte RAM, 3 hard drives, RME Fireface UFX, UAD-1, Mackie Control, Adam A7X
Anderton
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 14070
Re: Removing a section of a song 2017/01/31 20:50:47 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby karma1959 2017/02/01 09:43:11
karma1959
I understand the new update may have 'delete hole' fixed, although I've never used this option before.   Hopefully ripple editing will make this easier down the road, but I need to delete a section (or two!) of a song now and with 50 tracks of audio / MIDI, I'm seriously looking for an easier way.

Delete hole doesn't work with MIDI tracks if MIDI notes extend over the split point, and doesn't work with audio tracks if there is nothing in the track to be deleted. 

The best I can offer is to select all, place the cursor where you want the "hole" to start, then type S to split. If a MIDI note extends over this boundary, the section of the note to the right of the split point will cease to exist, but the section of the note to the left of the split will remain intact.

Do the same thing at the end of the "hole."