Second time around

Author
jsykes
Max Output Level: -78 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 631
2005/03/12 23:33:01 (permalink)

Second time around

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/1/jeffreysykesmusic.htm

Hello to all. This is my second time posting a link to my songs that I have done using Cakewalk's GTP3 program. I want to thank all the folks who take time on this forum to share their knowlege with newcomers so we can learn the ropes.

I'd like for you all to listen to my song "Wise" which I redid recently using some new knowledge I gained here, and put my new Micro Synth by Electro Harmonix to use. My apologies to Robert Fripp.

I like to write songs and know how to play the guitar somewhat. My songs are in the rock vein, but don't fit into any category.

Please take a listen and let me know what you think. I am a newspaper editor by day, so I appreciate candor. Thanks again to folks like Chaz and Ed Summers and everyone else who participates in the forum.

Jeff.

12 Replies Related Threads

fif4lifefif
    Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 433
    RE: Second time around 2005/03/13 19:14:48 (permalink)
    I like that "lead" instrument. What is that? A guitar with reverse, reverb, reverse on it? Or is that the Micro Synth?

Although the advice that I am able to offer is limited, I hope it's helpful.

First, I think that the vocals are a little too low. They should be right up front, but not "on top" of the music.

Also, around 1:55, and again around 2:35, that lead instrument seems a little hot. Try using an envelope to control it there. While it is very dynamic, it slightly overpowers the rythm tracks.

Just my 2 cents

-Vince
    jsykes
    RE: Second time around 2005/03/13 20:00:07 (permalink)
    Vince:

That lead instrument is the micro synth.