Signal Flow Help

Author
FiendishTooth
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2008/05/19 14:54:53 (permalink)

Signal Flow Help

Hello Cakewalk Forum people!

I'm John, I'm currently trying to help a woman who is trying to record the soundtrack to an indie film. This film just needs the soundtrack then it's done and off to wherever that part of the business goes.

Anyway, I need help to help her. I'm an Audio Engineer (for all of one year now, and lets just say digital is not my forte' I am an analog type guy but usually has no issues with digital...till now. Cause it's probably something simple but 3 hours sleep makes brain go BOOM)

She has an Alesis QS8.1 Keyboard, connecting through a Midi/USB cable in to her Dell going in to CW Music Creator 3. I have racked my brain something fierce to try and figure out where I am losing the signal flow.

If anybody has any maybe step by steps or ... something, I need help cause this headache hurts (ha!)

(I'm new to Cakewalk by the way, never used it I've used many others but never Cakewalk...so... somebody make this more of a cake walk?... Bad Bad joke...((Its the sleep deprevation))

Thank you.

5 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    RE: Signal Flow Help 2008/05/19 15:35:02 (permalink)
    what do you mean by "losing the signal flow?" you state that you have a MIDI/USB cable connected to the computer, so that's a contradiction of terms. there's no "signal flow" for MIDI, MIDI is data only. if you're trying to record an audio signal from the Alesis, then you won't be using the MIDI/USB cable - you'll need audio cable(s) running from the audio output(s) of the Alesis into the soundcard.

if you're trying to record MIDI, then you'll need a softsynth inserted into the project in order for the MIDI to trigger sounds