Helpful ReplySimple Mastering Techniques???

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
johndavidross
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 37
2017/08/04 01:54:17 (permalink)

Simple Mastering Techniques???

I'm still pretty new to the SONAR game. I have some songs roughly recorded and they are mixed down pretty well but they just don't sound great when I export. Mostly it's the volume that I have issue with. I have to crank the volume half way up just to hear anything it seems. I've tried LANDR and it made my tracks sound great or at least way better than I was going for with these recordings. The problem is that I'd like to know how to do it myself if possible with the included tools within SONAR Platinum. Is there an easy few steps that anyone can walk me through?

Thanks!
interpolated
Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 830
Re: Simple Mastering Techniques??? 2017/08/04 02:21:13 (permalink)
Modern mastering pushes beyond the analogue limitatiobs. Therefore -18dBFS is very dynamic although lacks the punch required to gel in with modern digital mastering.

Even though analogue is still used the boost volume in some situations. The digital limitations of distortion after 0dB is the problem.

You need to use Adaptive limiter or something similar like anaximiser to create the extra volume whilst avoiding unwanted clipping (harmonic distortion).

I have computer stuff.

https://soundcloud.com/sigmadelta
gswitz
Max Output Level: -18.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5694
Re: Simple Mastering Techniques??? 2017/08/04 02:34:59 (permalink)
there are a lot of things do to make recordings sound sweet in the final mix. There is no simple formula.

The FX that come with Sonar can do a nice job.

Different types of music can sound good using different things.

So, there  are a couple of things to think about...
1. Can you hear the interesting things as they happen?
2. Are there nice changes in the song's feel that you can shine a light on?