Sonar 4 and Windows Vista, Did I Mess Up??

Author
homebase
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 35
2007/06/14 10:35:54 (permalink)

Sonar 4 and Windows Vista, Did I Mess Up??

Was running Sonar 4 Studio on an old XP machine and for the most part it was stable. Had some usb issues with an interface but eventually got the static bursts eliminated.

Had to get a new computer and hardware wise it is a vast improvement but enter Windows Vista...

Will it install and run OK???
post edited by homebase - 2007/06/14 11:08:04

10 Replies Related Threads

homebase
    • Total Posts : 35
    RE: Sonar 4 and Windows Vista, Did I Mess Up?? 2007/06/14 11:30:01 (permalink)
    Just found the musicians reference page with the Vista info and it looks like Sonar 4 is not supported.

As I am just a hobby/home musician it looks like Home Studio XL would be an alternative. Any suggestions??
    mosspa
    Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 818
    RE: Sonar 4 and Windows Vista, Did I Mess Up?? 2007/06/14 11:38:27 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: homebase

Was running Sonar 4 Studio on an old XP machine and for the most part it was stable. Had some usb issues with an interface but eventually got the static bursts eliminated.

Had to get a new computer and hardware wise it is a vast improvement but enter Windows Vista...

Will it install and run OK???

I would tend to doubt it will run reliably. SONAR 4 would have been coded in 2004 and I don't think there was a definitive Vista SDK at that time.

John

AsRock Taichi 399, AMD Threadripper 1950x  O.C. 4.0GHz. 64GB DDR4-3200, Win 10 Pro,  Focusrite Scarlet 18i 20/Scarlet Octo Pre.  Frontier Design Apache ADAT routing, MOTU MTP MIDI Routing
    smoddelm
    Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 447
    RE: Sonar 4 and Windows Vista, Did I Mess Up?? 2007/06/14 11:57:32 (permalink)
    Run in XP compatibility mode?
    LionSound
    Max Output Level: -39 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3616