Sonar 8se....Dropouts etc... Diagnosed

Author
mrfitz
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 216
2008/10/20 16:09:51 (permalink)

Sonar 8se....Dropouts etc... Diagnosed

Geez...

I've tried duplicating all my settings from 6.2.1pe, I've uninstalled and reinstalled all my drivers (e-mu asio, current version), I've deleted every aud.ini on my system, but I still cannot get through 1 record take without getting a dropout/audio stopped. There are no cpu spikes, no disk spikes, in fact, when I get the dropout the cpus drop to 0%.

Fortunately 6.2.1pe still works fine (on the same box). It boggles my mind that the same audio driver settings I've been using for 2 years with sonar 6 won't work with 8. Has there been that many changes?

It's a little disappointing that I read all these reports of better performance (which is probably the major reason I bit the bullet) only to find that it's going to be a major project just to get it to run properly.

post edited by mrfitz - 2008/10/24 12:03:26

Sonar X1c pe x64
Sonar VS-100
phenom 9600 x4
Win 7 x64 Home Prem
4 gigabytes ram
a homebrew champ
and a telecaster

10 Replies Related Threads

CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    RE: Sonar 8se....Dropouts etc... 2008/10/20 16:23:43 (permalink)
    I've tried duplicating all my settings from 6.2.1pe, I've uninstalled and reinstalled all my drivers (e-mu asio, current version), I've deleted every aud.ini on my system, but I still cannot get through 1 record take without getting a dropout/audio stopped. There are no cpu spikes, no disk spikes, in fact, when I get the dropout the cpus drop to 0%.

Its a different version, so you MAY need different settigns.
    After you updated to sonar 8, did you re-profile your sound card?? why dont you try it and then after it reprofiles your sound card, tweak the settigns. dont worry about what worked in sonar 6. worry about sonar 8
    Cj