Sonar Home Studio 6XL

Author
dp80
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2008/09/27 03:04:17 (permalink)

Sonar Home Studio 6XL

I have bought Sonar Home Studio 6XL and have never been so frustrated, confused and annoyed. After following the tutorial many times over, I get no sound through the computer even though I can see that the track is playing. Also, when playing and recording through my Peavey mixer and speakers the sound is excellent, but when playing a recorded track back, the sound is shocking!

When I bought the program, I was told that I would be able to record each channel individually when playing and singing at the same time. I cannot do this - it all records together on one channel.

I am a musician, not a sound engineer and do not have time to waste on this. If someone can give me some advice that is easy to understand, please do!!!

6 Replies Related Threads

jamesg1213
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 21760
    RE: Sonar Home Studio 6XL 2008/09/27 03:21:10 (permalink)
    Hi, and welcome to the forums

Frustration is understandable, but to help you we really need some more info from you,; PC specs and soundcard model for instance.

When I bought the program, I was told that I would be able to record each channel individually when playing and singing at the same time. I cannot do this - it all records together on one channel.

This will more than likely be soundcard setting problem, but again, we need to know what soundcard you have to be able to help.

Have a look at this thread for starters;

http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=1370491

I am a musician, not a sound engineer and do not have time to waste on this.

Well, to a large extent you'll need to put on a sound engineers hat on to use recording software successfully; there's a big learning curve, and it will take time. Stick with it though, the results are definitely worth it, you have a great program there!

Jyemz