Sonar X1 Studio v Reaper & Sylenth1

Author
Jackster
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 13
2010/11/23 07:58:24 (permalink)

Sonar X1 Studio v Reaper & Sylenth1

I was going to get Reaper & Sylenth1 syth when I saw that Cakewalk were about to release Sonar X1 Studio and it had Rapture synth included.  Is this the full version of Rapture?  If so do you think it would be better to get Sonar X1 Studio as it works works out pretty similar in price.  Also would Sonar X1 Studio be all I need to start making my own music?  Can I also add in voice and other samples?  I'm a bit of a newbie as you can probably tell.  I have a digital piano at the moment that I wish to use as the main instrument input and am looking to make quite atmospheric, trancey type music - would X1 Studio be suitable for a beginner?  Thanks in advance. 

10 Replies Related Threads

benstat
    Max Output Level: -71 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 972
    Re:Sonar X1 Studio v Reaper & Sylenth1 2010/11/23 08:14:40 (permalink)
    No, it's Rapture LE (the cut down version) that comes with both Studio and Producer I'm afraid, although it does come with quite a few presets.

I use Sonar 8.5.3 Studio, and yes, it's all you'll need to start making music, although you may feel the need to buy a synth plugin or two (that's what I've done). You get a lot more plugins (effects and synths) with Sonar Producer, but it's obviously more expensive.

Don't forget that there is a new Sonar edition coming out called Sonar X1 Essential. If you're trying to save money, perhaps this would be a better option to get with Sylenth1 than Reaper? The new X1 version really is looking good from what we've seen so far. It's due on December 8th.

You can compare the options here: http://www.cakewalk.com/Products/SONAR/X1-Comparison-Chart.aspx

If you go go to the Japanese Cakewalk site (www.cakewalk.jp), and run it through Google Translate, for some reason their comparison chart is a lot more detailed.