Sonar, composition, and things like tuplets?

Author
rpmfd
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 62
2010/07/18 09:00:25 (permalink)

Sonar, composition, and things like tuplets?

Ok, first I'll say, I'm new to sonar and that I maybe I'm missing something in the program. I finally got things set up and working properly and I began my first project. I mainly use the staff view to began a project and map out ideas. Here are some of my questions:

1. What's with triplets? Sonar seems to not understand. That is, if I wish to only enter the last 2 notes of a triplet, leaving the first triplet note as a rest, sonar gets ignores it as a triplet and makes the notation very weird. Definitely not something I could print and give to a musician.

2. Does it end with triplets?  There are no other tuplets I can use? I can't see how that's possible for a music notation program.

3. Can I not chose which enharmonics I want to use? or how to notate my score. Sonar uses tie notes for everything. It's very ugly.

Also, I'm using sonar studio, if that makes a difference.

16 Replies Related Threads

lfm
    Max Output Level: -53 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2216
    Re:Sonar, composition, and things like tuplets? 2010/07/18 09:14:42 (permalink)
    I cannot fully answer you question, but remember reading about limitations in staff view about triplets. Many are wishing for extensions in this field.

Don't expect full notation program features in Sonar staff view.

Possible workaround - work in your notation program and import midi file into Sonar later.
    rpmfd
    Re:Sonar, composition, and things like tuplets? 2010/07/18 09:51:48 (permalink)
    Yeah, that's what I'm going to do. I can't find anything in sonar about this. Thanks

Guitarpima
    Max Output Level: -34 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4125
    Re:Sonar, composition, and things like tuplets? 2010/07/18 12:36:50 (permalink)