Helpful ReplySonar issues with MP4 video files - Please help!! 2016

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
jonogrant
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 99
2016/01/06 22:29:20 (permalink)

Sonar issues with MP4 video files - Please help!! 2016

Hello! I am returning once again to see if anyone can help resolve a persistent issue in Sonar (X1,X2,X3 or Platinum)

I am a composer for TV and film. I use Sonar. People send me MP4s and Quicktime files. These files import and open in Sonar but when I export audio from those sessions, they do not sync perfectly in other programs when using the same video file. They are off by up to a frame and a half  (The difference varies slightly in the different Sonar versions) - 

I test the same thing using ProTools and Sony Vegas without Sonar and there are no sync issues. Frame accurate sync when exporting and importing audio from the MP4 or quick time file back and fourth between those programs.

If I do the test in Sonar using an AVI file, I don't get the problems. Any exported audio syncs up perfectly in the other programs, so it's an issue with MP4/Quicktime files or the codecs used to create them.

Sonar seems to have a problem importing the MP4 or QT correctly on the time line so even though Sonar's time display and the burn-in time display on the video file are locked, Sonar exports any audio up to a frame and a half late. I'm having to manually resync any audio I create in another program before I can deliver it if I want it in perfect sync. 

- It is not a basic thing I'm overlooking in my setup (frame rate, sample rate etc)
- A half frame/1.5 frame out is not acceptable in film/tv audio (frame accurate is necessary) 
- Yes, I have looked into Codecs and don't seem to have any other problems. Although Sonar might prefer different codec packs, I've tested a bunch: Shark0007 K-Lite etc. All have same results