Helpful ReplySound Blaster with Cakewalk?

Author
fortissimo
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2016/10/24 10:59:00 (permalink)

Sound Blaster with Cakewalk?

I am a composer who mostly just does score notation in Sibelius.  Once in a while I like to make a composition sound better by exporting to MIDI and mapping virtual instruments to it using Cakewalk.

My Sound Blaster died a couple years ago, and I've survived using my motherboard's on-board sound.  I can even run Sibelius/Kontakt with it.  [It's not pretty - the rhythmic precision in playback is choppy, making the computer sound a little drunk during realtime playback, but for me it gets the job done and certainly this becomes irrelevant when exporting audio... only relevant when playing real time].  But obviously I haven't done what I first describe above (MIDI, mapping instruments) for some time now - Cakewalk will not even output sound using on-board sound (or at least I haven't figured out how to get it to).

I'd like to do some more instrument mapping in Cakewalk Sonar, and I know I can't use it with an on-board sound card.  I know people are very reluctant to recommend Sound Blaster cards.  I'm willing to look into more professional audio cards, but are there any you'd recommend that have the standard 1/8" jacks in the back for output and input?  A decade ago I used to only buy professional audio cards, and I remember how relieved I felt when I finally just bought a Sound Blaster and no longer had to deal with various fancy-shmancy RCA, optical, etc. inputs and outputs.  Is there a cheapskate's professional sound card out there that would get the job done, be reliable, and be used commonly enough to never have to worry about drivers failing to be updated (that's another wonderful thing about Sound Blasters - you know that even a 15-year-old SB card is still going to have supporting drivers for it... possibly even included with Windows installations because SB cards are so ubiquitous).