Synths...What to do?

Author
sonardoggy
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 25
2007/11/28 08:25:38 (permalink)

Synths...What to do?

Well, I'm primarily a guitarist and have had years of experience with PC recording and am also pretty much a computer geek.

I'm setting up my home studio and am trying to make decisions on my initial gear. I can't decide whether I should purchase a keyboard/synth like the Korg TR or whether I should just go for software synths with a decent midi controller. I only have a couple thousand tops right now to spend on the keyboard/synth/software. This is for recording only so gigging with the gear is not an issue.

Any thoughts?

15 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    RE: Synths...What to do? 2007/11/28 09:07:47 (permalink)
    If you don't plan to use the keyboard on a gig or ever outside of your studio, then you would do best to get yourself a MIDI controller and just use it in conjunction with softsynths. there are a lot of good options for MIDI controllers - and even the cheap keyboards can function as a MIDI controller as well. that's what I'm currently doing is using a cheap Yamaha as my controller plus, it gives me sounds if I just want to "noodle" on the keyboard without setting up the DAW for output.

there are a lot of great softsynths/samplers out there, especially if you can spend a "couple thousand" on synths and keyboard/controller. but it depends on what types of sounds you want. EastWest series are supposed to be really great samples. the gold symphonic is ~$500 I think. Vienna is supposed to be the best coming in at $5K.

Lots of MIDI controllers to choose from, depending on your needs. do you want a full size (88) key controller? or do you just want something to take up the least amount of space yet be functional?

here's a few to look at:
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/MAudio-Keystation-88es-USB-MIDI-Keyboard-Controller?sku=703607