System Memory Usage Unusually High?

Author
Musikman
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 220
2017/07/15 21:27:31 (permalink)

System Memory Usage Unusually High?

Hi,
EDIT**-- I think I should be asking what the Performance Meters in Platinum represent, whether it's RAM or CPU. It seems when compared to the Windows 10 Task Mgr reading, the Sys Mem Usage meter in Sonar is reflecting overall System RAM usage as opposed to only showing CPU usage of Sonar itself. I'm fairly new to Platinum, and if I'm not mistaken, I remember in Sonar 8, the meters said specifically "CPU". Right clicking on the Performance Meter brings up three options, and although it says "CPU Options", when I change to any of those options, the percentage seems to remain the same. I could be just getting confused about the terminology here, sorry if this is the case! I know Windows 10 uses 1.5-2.0GB to operate, and add to that with Sonar open.

What should my system memory usage be averaging for a project with only one audio clip and no VSTs or FX loaded? I seem to remember my CPU being only 5% or so at the start of a project with minimal tracks, now I'm seeing it around 28%, which seems odd to me. I've read some other posts regarding this, but I haven't seen a definitive solution so far.  As a test I just loaded a "New Project" with nothing recorded, and the CPU is at 21%.

I'm running v2017.05. I don't have any other programs running in the background, and I don't remember any major W10 updates, maybe a couple small security updates (can't be 100% sure on that though). Is there a known issue for this version of Platinum, and has this possibly already been addressed in the latest v2017.06?

So far I haven't gotten dropout messages, but then I haven't really loaded up any big projects either, it's just the Sys Memory usage seems oddly high. Thanks in advance.

MM
post edited by Musikman - 2017/07/15 22:15:17

Sonar Platinum, Win10 Pro 64bit, AMD FX 6300 6 Core, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon R9-380