Tempo, meter, 1-bar detection problems using Set Project Tempo From Clip.

Author
clegs
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2016/06/21 13:38:32 (permalink)

Tempo, meter, 1-bar detection problems using Set Project Tempo From Clip.

Sonar Professional
Problem: Can’t sync up my measures correctly and have Sonar sense correct tempo and meter using Set Project Tempo From Clip.

First: I apologize for the long post and request. I’m fairly new to Sonar and the technology (although I have a lot of analog engineering and recording background), and the Cakewalk Support People have been MIA.  Also, FYI - I’ve read, studied, and tried the manual info.

Background: 24 track recording were done on Alesis HD24 a while back.  Used HD24 Tools to convert tracks/songs to wave files, and made available to Sonar (no problems in that regard).  Note: No Midi was used on these tracks/songs.  I have been dubbing/recording and premixing with effects and processing without issue, but the tempo Sonar is displaying, and the track orientation to the 1-beat, and the actual bar meter in reference to the tracks, is incorrect.

Objective: To use the Set Project Tempo from Clip (or any other function needed) to get a song’s correct measure sync, meter, and tempo.

I had a phone/go-to-meeting session with the Support People, and they/he tried, but could not solve the problem.  They were going to research and get back to me.  He did let me know that he had a solution, but didn’t call me back on the appt time we booked, and they have not responded since to my other inquiries in regard to the case #’s.

All the songs have 4 beats per measure click tracks (generated in the original HD24 recording), so that is what we used to Set Project Tempo From Clip (we also tried the snare track when the click track didn't work).  The result was 60 bpm, instead of the actual 120 bpm, and the beats per measure were off, and measures were not aligned to the 1-beat.