The Charts

Author
cjlinus
Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 446
2007/02/17 11:10:58 (permalink)

The Charts

For any of you that use Soundclick I am wondering what the Stats and chart placement really mean. I just posted my stuff there a couple of days ago and one of my songs is listed as being "On the charts". I have one song that has more "Plays" than the others but it is not listed on the charts. Does any of this mean that I am not just a hack? Should I quit my job and move to LA. When do I get my tourbus!?!

Anyway, thanks for those of you that listened and commented on my stuff. I am still learning and trying to figure this stuff out so if you know about this please fill us newbies in.

When I was a kid we had to use Portastudios, uphill! both ways!!

Listen to my songs here

19 Replies Related Threads

RLD
    Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1990
    RE: The Charts 2007/02/17 11:26:32 (permalink)
    All it means is your song has had plays...depending on the genre, just a few plays can get you high on the charts.
    It obviously doesn't mean a song is good cause lots of terrible songs are on the top of soundclick charts.
    Its all about number of plays, and it seems people know how to manipulate the plays cause some not so good tunes have been high on the charts for a long time.
    But it's sort of fun to track it and see how it works.
    RLD
    jamesg1213
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 21760
    RE: The Charts 2007/02/17 11:57:52 (permalink)
    The charts are based on 'unique plays' in other words, they only count one play from each person that plays your song on a given day. That's to stop people playing their own songs 4000 times a day just to get to 'No. 1'

As far as I know, you can't have more than one song in any one genre at a time, so it's best to pick slightly different genres if you want all your songs moving in the charts.