Timing question.

Author
dud23
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 19
2011/01/18 15:08:03 (permalink)

Timing question.

I searched and couldnt find an answer to this,  im a beginner so im sure its a dumb question. But, i use session drummer 3 to do my drums, then i try to go back with dimension or another soft synth and record it. It sounds perfect as i do it, exactly spot on. but then when i playback it is always off just a little, the exact same amount in every song, so i have to go back through and correct it by dragging the notes to the correct timing. I use an edirol pcr-300 and an m audio fast track pro. know why it happens and how do i fix it?

17 Replies Related Threads

CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    Re:Timing question. 2011/01/18 15:43:25 (permalink)
    Whats are your sound card settings, as this may have soemthnig to do with it. Also note if your using the latest maudio drivers and if your using usb for the midi keyboard
    Cj

www.audio-mastering-mixing.com - A Professional Worldwide Audio Mixing & Mastering Studio, Providing Online And Attended Sessions. We also do TV commercials, Radio spots & spoken word books
    Audio Blog
    bitflipper
    01100010 01101001 01110100 01100110 01101100 01101
    • Total Posts : 26036
    Re:Timing question. 2011/01/18 20:37:23 (permalink)
    There is always a delay when you record something. SONAR mostly deals with this automatically by nudging the recorded audio to compensate, but it can't always get it spot on due to unreported or inaccurately reported latency factors. To deal with this situation, SONAR gives you a place to manually enter an additional offset value so that your recordings are right in time.