"Tonight" First Mix

Author
evhwanabe
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 43
2006/12/03 15:19:11 (permalink)

"Tonight" First Mix

Hey guys, just playing around with Sonar 6 and my new V-drums. This is probably my first serious attempt in actually trying to finish a song lol. Check it out, and tell me what you think...... mix suggestions mainly, as I am new to mixing drums and such.

http://www.brettdriscoll.com/download/original/Tonight-Drums-Mix-7.mp3

Thanks!

12 Replies Related Threads

RigPa
    Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 437
    RE: "Tonight" First Mix 2006/12/03 16:04:06 (permalink)
    Pretty good I'd say. The vox sounds comp'ed. I wouldn't kill that much dynamics on the song using comp. Otherwise I think it is pretty perfect.

/David
    evhwanabe
    RE: "Tonight" First Mix 2006/12/03 16:33:47 (permalink)
    Thanks David! I will look into the vocals...... I probably am compressing them too much right now.
    PickAx
    • Total Posts : 22
    RE: "Tonight" First Mix 2006/12/03 17:16:04 (permalink)
    Very nice....Great mellow vibe to it. I agree about the compression though....other than that, I would'nt change a thing.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=595968
    ToneCarver
    Max Output Level: -58.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1655
    RE: "Tonight" First Mix 2006/12/03 18:02:33 (permalink)
    evhwanabe,

Nice track, good song structure. I like the vocal harmonies and how they are placed in the stereo field, I can make out all the individual voices clearly. Good mix of instrument tones, vocal compression has already mentioned . The drums sound nice - the ride cymbals towards the end of the song might be a touch loud, but that could just as easily be a reflection of my personal preferences. Nice tone on the guitar lead breaks, particularly the second lead break, tasteful wah. Good job!

Bill
    chasekh
    Max Output Level: -73 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 874