Total Newb, please be gentle.

Author
xangel
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2008/12/11 19:30:20 (permalink)

Total Newb, please be gentle.

I am a total newb when it comes to digital music composition. I am musically inclined, I just never really got into it on the digital side.

I am a blank slate on this. I understand music composition and all that.. just not sure where to begin on the digital side.

I don't own a keyboard or anything like that.. and I guess I am just trying to find out if that is even really needed (of course I have a standard keyboard on my computer :) )

I guess what I want to know is if I write a piece of sheet music... can cakewalk/sonar read it?

How do you prevent the cheap sound of most MIDI sequences?

Like I said.. I am a total newb... so I know I sound like an idiot... I have heard some of the songs posted on here and they sound really good.

I am looking for education... not evisceration. :)

I guess my overall question would be:

When you got started...what did you have.. what did you feel you needed.. and what do you think you could have done without?

ANY advice is welcomed. I have tunes in my head... just want to get them down.

12 Replies Related Threads

bitflipper
    01100010 01101001 01110100 01100110 01101100 01101
    • Total Posts : 26036
    RE: Total Newb, please be gentle. 2008/12/11 20:35:01 (permalink)
    The easiest way to get notes into the computer is with a MIDI keyboard. However, you can also enter notes via the Staff View, allowing you to generate a MIDI track from notation. But if you're composing on a piano, it's probably going to be easier to get a decent MIDI keyboard controller and play each part while recording the MIDI data.