Track Output/Soundcard output confusion

Author
seed
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 102
2014/09/05 17:48:46 (permalink)

Track Output/Soundcard output confusion

hello all -
still learning that's for sure!  please excuse the length :)

i'm about to get some monitors (krk r5) which is great except now i have lost the headphone jack that was on my old pair of garbage pc speakers and i use the headphones a lot at night.  my sound card is m-audio delta 1010lt so it has 4 RCA outs (1/2,3/4,5/6,7/8).

being the noob i am my first tune has 30 something soft synth instrument tracks as well as a few audio tracks all outputting to 7/8.  I'm not using a single bus at the moment so i've no experience using them yet.

the goal now is that i need a way to switch between headphones and speakers. as easy as possible and i would like to have both connected so that i'm never fumbling with cables.
does it make sense that i would route all of my tracks to a bus and then i could just flip the output of that bus between say 7/8 and 5/6?

any other ideas? 
i was thinking an old school AV switch but fear that would degrade the sound quality.
i'll likely end up using more buses etc as i get to the mixing phase of this tune but for the time being....

thanks all :)

9 Replies Related Threads

bitflipper
    01100010 01101001 01110100 01100110 01101100 01101
    • Total Posts : 26036
    Re: Track Output/Soundcard output confusion 2014/09/06 14:16:49 (permalink)
    Usually, the easiest way to switch between headphones and speakers is via the interface rather than separate bus assignments in the DAW. On mine, I have the headphones always on and simply switch the main speakers on or off as needed. This is made more convenient by a separate power switch on a rack-mounted power strip/conditioner.