Helpful ReplyTwo Cents Worth (maybe not even?)

Author
wst3
Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1979
2018/04/15 13:42:04 (permalink)

Two Cents Worth (maybe not even?)

I'm as frustrated and confused, and even disappointed as probably most folks here. The end of Cakewalk Sonar was a bitter pill to swallow. The BandLab rescue is appealing. But it is also a disruption - or an attempt at a disruption. Not unlike the subscription (hate that word) model that Cakewalk tried.

We aren't going to know how this will turn out until it does. And that is maddening. Do I stick with a tool I've been using for almost 20 years (how is that possible)? Do I assume the worst and move on? And where would I go?

This may sound odd, but if Gibson had not been in such dire financial straits I still believe that Cakewalk's subscription/monthly update model would have done really well in the marketplace. It was already gaining interest.

We know how that story ended.

We don't know if Bandlab will be able to build a successful model around a free, high end DAW. I wouldn't count them out. They have at least some of the original development team, and those folks are good. I hope they were able to hang onto some of the product team as well.
And I wish they'd give us a peek at what they are planning. This is a pretty loyal group, and I think we could "handle the truth".

For now I continue to work, almost exclusively, with the final version of Sonar Platinum. I will, at the first convenient time, install Cakewalk by Bandlab. But I am also using  Studio One - which I was playing around with anyway, and I'm considering adding DP to the system. I've always liked DP on the Mac, and in spite of some spectacular stumbles when released for Windows I have high hopes.

Maybe all of this will even turn out to be a good thing for me?

I think I'd have been just as happy to continue on my path with Sonar<G>!

-- Bill
Audio Enterprise
KB3KJF
Phoen1xPJ
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS