UM1G not triggering computer midi piano

Author
tr909
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2010/07/22 16:06:24 (permalink)

UM1G not triggering computer midi piano

I think i've fallen at first hurdle, but, being a novice i don't know how to investigate why no sounds are triggered by the keyboard.

I have:
Fatar SL-880 midi keyboard
UM-1G
PC running Vista 32bit
PianoFX Studio 4.0

What i've done so far:
Installed the Roland/Cakewalk Advanced driver (apparently successfully)
Done a Factory Default Settings reset on the keyboard
Installed PianoFX and registered it
Made sound come out of PianoFX using the on-screen keyboard and mouse-clicks
Switched the UM-1G Midi Thru Off and Advanced Driver On
Connected the Midi Out on the keyboard to the UM-1G connector that's labeled "Connect to midi out"
Connected to USB on the PC
In PianoFX gone to Midi Device and selected 3- UM-1G

What i get:
The USB light is lit on the UM-1G
On pressing a key on the piano keyboard there's a Midi In light lit on the UM-1G
There is no Midi Out light lit on the UM-1G
If using the Midi Check button the Midi Out light is lit

At no point is there sound coming from my pc apart from the system sound when connecting the USB cable or if the onscreen piano is triggered using the mouse.

What can i check or do? Should there be a corresponding Midi Out lit when the Midi In is lighting on keyboard key presses?

Thanks for any help...

4 Replies Related Threads

Fog
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 12302
    Re:UM1G not triggering computer midi piano 2010/07/22 16:27:27 (permalink)
    ok.. piano fx.. you can record notes right?

remember the interface is MIDI and not audio interface

you get the audio from either 1) the keyboard (if it has sounds) OR from VST instruments..

you have a decent onboard asio card? you need to setup your audio sound card also IF you wanna deal with sound coming from the pc