USB/FireWire recording interface options for laptop.

Author
johnny 2001
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 36
2006/07/29 15:21:02 (permalink)

USB/FireWire recording interface options for laptop.

Hey All,

I recently purchased a Dell Inspiron e1505 and I want to be able to do some recording on the thing. I have been using Cakewalk and other recording gear for a while but I'm relatively new to the world of USB and FireWire recording interfaces, and need some help finding a solution.

First of all, let me say that I just purchased a Presonus Firebox and a SIIG Expresscard with 2 FireWire ports. After wasting many hours tweaking the system, I finally gave up in frustration. I never got beyond some awful clicking noises. Couldn't record or playback anything. And YES I did check the fourms and everywhere else on the net, tweaked the hell out of my machine as Presonus and others have suggested.

Anyway here I am with my Firebox paperweight and expresscard, and I don't know if it's incompatibility with something in my system, with the expresscard or with the the way Sonar is setup (HS4XL BTW).

I guess my question is a two-parter:

A. Do you have any idea if I should keep trying to deal with the Firebox or is this a lost cause? I'm kinda ready to smash it.

and

2. What laptop solutions work for you? What can you recommend? I'm thinking of trying either the M-Audio FireWire 1814 or moving to a USB solution, like the Lexicon Lambda. Just so you know, I'm wanting to record acoustic guitar and vocals mostly, so sound quality is important to me, however I do have a budget of about $500.00.

Hope you all can help me out, looking foward to your replies.
John Horne

Not good with what all the specs are but:

Dell Inspiron E1505
Centrino Duo
T2400 @1.83GHz
1 GB Ram
WinXP Pro SP2
Sonar HS4XL

If that helps.

post edited by johnny 2001 - 2006/07/29 15:53:23

21 Replies Related Threads

Junski
    Max Output Level: -59.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1570