Understanding Cut/Res EG in Rapture

Author
altima_boy_2001
Max Output Level: -55 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2033
2008/03/07 22:06:02 (permalink)

Understanding Cut/Res EG in Rapture

Can someone explain the why/how/when of cut and res envelopes in Rapture? After reading the manual, the Cakewalk Synthesizers book, experimenting with my own programs, and turning them on and off with the presets I have little practical knowledge of why/how/when to use them or what exactly they are doing. I understanding the are cutting/boosting frequencies in some sort of programmable pattern, but that's about it. Honestly, the only presets where I do hear what's going on are noise patches where the cut step generator is filled with random steps where I can hear high frequencies cut in and out according to the steps. Or are they really useless except for those circumstances?

17 Replies Related Threads

vespesian
    Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 517
    RE: Understanding Cut/Res EG in Rapture 2008/03/07 23:37:23 (permalink)
    Uh - they're incredibly powerful. Make sure you've adjusted the "depth" enough (ie., well beyond 6000), Turn DOWN the volume. Cut/Res are basic ways to manipulate sound. Send me a file and I'll help you out.

You're in an amazing state.

So stay there.

AT
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10654
    RE: Understanding Cut/Res EG in Rapture 2008/03/08 00:45:48 (permalink)
    You use the envelopes (or step generator or LFO) to control the "cut off" frequency of the filter and the Resonance amount. The Cut off is where the filter starts working - lowering the amount of frequencies that come out of the oscillator either above or below it. Then there is the slope (the filter isn't really flat - ie. going from all to nothing).