Upgrading the VS-700C and VS-700R to run on Windows 10

Author
louisodwyer
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 16
2015/12/04 06:11:40 (permalink)

Upgrading the VS-700C and VS-700R to run on Windows 10

I've seen other posts about this, so here’s my story...

I bought the 700C and 700R about 5-6 years ago, running on Win7 32-bit (I had latency issues back then with 64-bit), very happy with it, it’s the centre-piece of my music room (I’m not a professional).

So, time to upgrade an keep the system going for another five years.
Got the free upgrade to Win10, edited the RDIF1089.inf, as documented in other posts.
It didn’t work. Well, it sort of half-worked.
I nearly gave up then, but I started checking from scratch.  Of course, in my stupidity, I had never upgraded my firmware, they were both at v1.00.
I went through the whole convoluted process of upgrading the firmware to 1.30/1.30 for the rack/phantom and 1.31 for the console.  It was ok, just the bit where the console has to be configured as a stand-alone USB device was tiresome, but it all worked.

I then installed a fresh copy of Win7 Ultimate 64-bit (I kept my Win7 32-bit with my dual-boot system).
I got the free upgrade to Win10 and installed it, so then I was running a clean version of Windows 10 Pro.

I disabled the Driver Signature Enforcement by opening a Command Prompt with Administrator rights and typing in these two lines:
BCDEDIT -Set LoadOptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
BCDEDIT -Set TESTSIGNING ON

I downloaded the vs700_wind-v202.zip, edited the RDIF1089.inf and went to install it.
It asked me to uninstall first and reboot, which I did and then it installed successfully.
I could now use the VS700 Main as a Windows playback source.
I also installed the V-700 Control Surface plug-in version 1.2 update.

I then installed Sonar Platinum and fired it up. I selected the V-700 Control Surface.
Most of the Console worked fine, ie. faders,transport buttons, arm/solo/mute buttons.