Using Session Drummer 3 samples as drum backing track

Author
redsavina
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2010/11/23 00:02:10 (permalink)

Using Session Drummer 3 samples as drum backing track

I am very new to Sonar 8.5, however, I have figured out enough to record different tracks.  What I would like to do now is use Session Drummer 3 to create the backing track.

I have watched a few tutorials, and have discovered how to access the sample tracks.  I click on "A" or "B" or "c" etc... until I find the one I like.  Then, I click on the little +with the music note to add it to my track view.  Just to the right of this option, there is a number which I believe represents the length of the sample.

I am wondering why when I add the selected sample to the track view, it contains more "stuff" in the drum pattern, and it doesnt match the listed length of the sample.  I find one that I really like, then I add it, and the first 1/2 of the sample is what I am looking for, however, the 2nd half is something totally different.  Why does it do this?  Is there a way to just get the sample that I hear when I click on "A", "B", or "C"? 

I just want to use the sample to do an intro, then add the other parts of the song such as chorus, bridge, solo, etc...  Then record my guitar input over the predefined drums.  I believe this is what Session Drummer is designed to do, however, I am stuck when the sample is different once I add it to the track view.

Any assistance will be appreciated. 

4 Replies Related Threads

brundlefly
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14250
    Re:Using Session Drummer 3 samples as drum backing track 2010/11/23 11:45:44 (permalink)
    I am wondering why when I add the selected sample to the track view, it contains more "stuff" in the drum pattern, and it doesnt match the listed length of the sample.