VST MFX "Wrapper" Project

Author
KevinK
Max Output Level: -73 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 863
2005/11/06 05:31:51 (permalink)

VST MFX "Wrapper" Project

Given that MFX is being orphaned by Cakewalk, while Steinberg is (apparently) supporting MIDI effects in the VST environment, it would appear that the Cakewalk user universe needs a VSI MIDI "wrapper" analogous to the FXpasnsion and DireciXer wrappers for VSTi softsynths and audio effects. I'm willing to take on the job in my "copious spare time", but I'd like to see if anyone else would like to participate. I'm a very seasoned real-time programmer, my current project being a modification of the Linux kernel to treat multithreaded RISC "microthreads" as virtual CPUs in an SMP kernel. So the architecture/coding/debugging of even a complex translation system isn't intimidating to me. On the other hand, my Windows programming experience has been mostly limited to command-line programs, with the exceptions of the very vanilla MFC interfaces I did for the LesLoups and Orchid MFX plugins. If there were people out there with relevant experience and good attitude who wanted to take care of the GUI and registry management parts of the "MFiXer" program, I'd be delighted, and we could get the project going fairly quickly. I'm mostly motivated to do this for my own use, and if other people handle the parts that I would find particularly onerous, I would not be strongly opposed to making it freeware, bu I think that such a product has some market value, though nothing exceptional, probably on the order of $30-50 per copy. I'm willing to discuss an equitable split of revenues with other players.

I'd also be very grateful if anyone else has war stories of having tried to do this kind of thing in the past.