What Recording and Mixing Levels preferred?

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
Walt Collins
Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1054
RE: What Recording and Mixing Levels preferred? 2004/03/17 09:27:17 (permalink)
ORIGINAL: jazzbass12

Waltenstein:
What I ment was the fader control. If I read your post correctly, you had said to adjust you trim (Gain) first then you faders.
So how do you adjust the trim if you have the faders down? Do you adjust all the trims so they so 0?
I might sound ingnorant but, I am just trying to understand the concept.
I have never used the trim controls before.
Thanks

I adjust all the trims so they get close to 0db (usually around -2db or so, give or take) before any processing. A simple way to do this is to turn on the metering options "Show Numeric Peak Values" in addition to "Playback Meter Options -> Peak", and "Playback Meter Options -> Pre Fader", then listen to your whole project end to end. On each track there will be a number over to the right of your M-S-R buttons, indicating the peak level you achieved during playback. Now you can set your trim to offset this and give your WAV the desired nominal level. For example, on track 1 your Numeric Peak Value shows "-8.4", so you'd set your Trim control to "+6.4", giving a net of around -2db.

Note that this is just one way to do things. I'm not saying you can't use the trim controls in other ways. I've just found that if all my track bin effects operate on signals that are basically the same level, they will react uniformly to the tweaks that I make when manipulating them. It also makes using Volume controls more uniform across your tracks if you know you're getting around -2db out of every effects bin. You can go straight down the line and set your levels based on the type of track and your desired output level, rather than having to listen again to figure out how loud the thing was recorded.

Walt Collins - Downtempo & Ambient